Original Official Golf Pro Shop - and that's official!

The original golf pro shop in Carnoustie was established by the Dalhousie Club in 1883 when - at the age of 20 - Bob Simpson was chosen to look after the already famous Carnoustie links. He established his business in the first Simpsons Golf Shop on Links Parade - a few steps along Links parade from where the shop stands today. Being responsible for the Links - golf in carnoustie revolved around the suimpsons golf Shop which was if you like the original official golf pro shop - the first truly official Carnoustie golf pro shop.

Along with his brothers Jack and Archie they became a formidable force in the world of golf but nowhere more than in Carnoustie. Thsee three young lads were already true professionals. Not only fabulous golfers but also ball makers, club makers, coaches and ccourse designers. Havng established his business in 1883 Bob eventually moved to the premisies at 6 Links Parade which - built in 1903 - was previously the establishment of Charles Brand. The earliest record we have of Brand making clubs is around 1890 by which time he was over 40 years of age, having been born in 1849. He had been appointed steward and caretaker to the Caledonia club in Carnoustie in 1889 and took to clubmaking while he was there and starting his own business while remaining as steward until 1908. The building was later sold to Bob Simpson who by the 1920's had become a very successful businessman. 

The  historic  Simpsons Golf Shop is a promiment building. It is certainly  inviting  with  its  charming  dome  and  traditional  period  elevation. It has a  timber  balustrade  (painted  sporting  green)  which straddles  a  raised  veranda  frontage.  Resplendent  in  its  painted  coat  of  vivid  red,  blue,  green  and  white;  the  dome  is  reminiscent  of  the  original  1920’s  cotton  golf  umbrella.  This  vibrant  blaze  of  colour  is  easily  seen  by  golfers  finishing  their  game  a  few  yards  away  on  the  eighteenth  green  and  has  been  a  feature  in  the  landscape  of  the  Carnoustie  Links  since  it  was  built  there  in  1903.  The building was Listed of Architectural merit in 2014 soon after being purchased by the Valentine family from Forfar.

So  the  Simpsons  Golf  Shop  has  a  long  uninterupted history  trading continuosly since 1883 which allows it to claim the title as the "World's 2nd oldest golf shop" (in continuous use).  But  there  is  much  more  to  this  story  than  just  the  shop,  however  iconic  it  has  become,  because  the  Simpsons  family  not  only  left  their  mark  on  the  heritage  of  Carnoustie’s  famous  links  but  also  made  a  significant  contribution  to  the  development  of  competitive  golf  and  the  golf  industry  that  now  engages  people  of  all  ages  from  across  the  globe.   

Carnoustie is now preparing for its eighth Open Championship in 2018. Simpsons Golf Shop is looking forward to welcoming the Carnoustie open 2018 and players and spectators from across the globe.

        

     

Posted 8:15 PM | Permalink